Skip to content

Helplessness of Humans…

Wednesday, July 22, 2009

There are aplenty of hopeless people around the world. Did they all become hopeless all of a sudden, or did they have any choice? Understanding this is complex. However, I believe terrible helplessness at some point of time makes people hopeless. If they ever had any other choice, they would opt for it!

This is a song (as well as the whole movie) portrays the helplessness of six different people who are close friends. I have been listening to the songs of this movie, Kaante, since it was released, and I never got bored. Oh, but I felt somewhere I am missing one song out of the movie (which I had heard a lot sometime) and upon Googling for the lyrics, I got it back! Do not know how but I accidentally seem to have deleted this song back. Maybe, because it was Punjabi and I did not even get an essence of it then. It is 6 years that I am listening to the songs of this movie, but I happened to watch this movie only yesterday night on Star Gold.

I am yet to come out with any better movie that portrays the helplessness of people in personal lives so precisely. All actors were great, but Mahesh Manjrekar (originally a director) stood different as an actor in this, and so did Sanjay Dutt. Kumar Gaurav and Amitabh were great as usual. Suniel Shetty and Lucky Ali did not have many dialogues as always but their body language spoke a lot.

As such, this movie is ‘inspired from’ Reservoir Dogs, but many have told me that this one is better presented. Whatever, this post is about the song and not the movie. The song will show the helpless situations of the six friends in the video itself. I found it touching. It is originally in Punjabi, and I got it translated from a Punjabi speaking friend.

I wish I should have heard it daily for the last 4 years!

By the way, this song appears in the movie when Amitabh’s wife (played by Rati Agnihotri) is about to die and Amitabh wishes to get her back. He has no one to live for except her. He is asking for his own thing to God, but he cannot get it. The initial lines are in Punjabi, next two in the brackets are in Hindi, and the last two are in English. If you know any one of the three languages, you will understand! 😀

Yaar Mangiyasi Rabba Tetho Ro ke, Kedi Main Khudaai Mang Laayi
Mar Jaan De Kisi Da Mainu Ho Ke
Kedi Main Khudaai
(Yaar manga tha Rabba Tujhse Ro Ke, Kaunsi Maine Khudaai Maang Li
Mar Jaane De Kisi Ka Mujhe Ho Ke, Kaunsi Khudaai)

I only asked for my dear (wife), I did not ask for your (God’s) kingdom

Let me die for the sake of my dear, I am not asking for your (God’s) kingdom…

Kinniya Duawan Mangga, Koyi Vi Na Manni Jaaye
Kaanu Roz Roz deve sanu dhokhe
Kedi Mein Khudai
(Kitni Duayeein Mangu, Koi bhi Na Mani Jaaye (or sunee jaye)
Kyun Roz Roz De Mujhe Dhokhe, Kaunsi Khudaai)

How many times I’ve prayed, not a single one is reaching you,

Why give me trauma everyday? I did not ask for your kingdom…

Pyaar Mera, Kar Rabba Mere Hawale, Yaar Bin Dil Mera Kaun Sambhale
Cheez Apni Hi Mangi Maine Tuhjse, Kedi Mein Paarai Manglaayi
Mar Jaan De Kisi Da Mainu Ho Ke, Kedi Main Khudaai
(mera pyar, kar mere hawale rabba, yaar ke bina kaun dil sambhale
cheez apni hi mangi thi maine tujhse, kaunsi parrai (kisi aur ki) mang li
Mar jaane de mujhe kisi ka hoke ..kaunsi khudai….)

Give me my love (wife) back, who will look after me without my dear?

I have asked for something of my own, did I ask for anything of others?

Let me die for the sake of my dear, I am not asking for your (God’s) kingdom…

Mera Ye Naseeba, Hai Meri Nahin Sunta
Sapno Ke Jaal Yeh To, Roz Roz Bunta
Kabhi Sun Le Tu Meri Bhi Duhaai, Kedi Mein Khudai
(meri ye kistman , hai meri nahi sunti Sapno Ke Jaal Yeh To, Roz Roz Bunti
Kabhi Sun Le Tu Meri Bhi Duhaai, Kaunsi Maine Khudai)

O my luck, doesn’t even listen to me, weaving out dreams of its own daily and daily,

Sometime listen to my two lines of prayer, I am not asking for your (God’s) kingdom…..

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Sundeep permalink
    Thursday, July 23, 2009 3:20 am

    Thanks man, you have done a great job of looking for lyrics. The lyrics are meaningful and touching. And yeah at times we get so helpless by the circumstances around us that we become hopeless. Its a phase that everybody comes across at some point in life. There is one more song in Kaante “Socha nahi tha”, which shows this very same “helpless” feeling of humans.

  2. Thursday, July 23, 2009 11:55 am

    Sundeep,
    Thanks for the visit. I did search for the lyrics but only got the Hindi translation for the first two paras after some Googling. I requested a fellow to translate the entire thing in Hindi. Just too much of helplessness in one’s life leaves one with no choice but to rob, loot, etc. We can see that helplessness everywhere once we step out of home… As for Socha Nahin Tha, I was thinking of posting separately but I think that would be a kind of ”Kaante’ overdose. Anyways, that song is scary… 🙂
    And ye, do edit your profile, and give the link to your blog so that the name ‘Sundeep’ that appears here would turn out to be a hyper link to your blog.
    Keep visiting…

  3. Rowan permalink
    Friday, July 24, 2009 7:39 am

    Hmmm, a change from the usual, but still interesting nevertheless. Thanks for posting the English underneath for us poor readers who can’t understand Hindi/Punjabi :).
    Sounds like a good song. I’ll have to see if I can find it on the internet. I wonder if iTunes has that sort of thing? Maybe OptusNet.

  4. Saturday, July 25, 2009 9:00 pm

    This is so good a post,I wish I knew the song but from the way you talked about the lyric you must really love them.

    Keep up the good work,…

  5. Saturday, August 1, 2009 1:47 pm

    wow yeah… people remembr kaante for a lotta different dialogues and stuff.. but yeah!! amazing sonG!!

  6. Sunday, August 2, 2009 6:25 am

    Rowan, ye a little change from the usual though I am not sure how long it will stay. Why find it on the internet when it is there already in the post up?!? Just click on the YouTube embedded vid and the lyrics are there as well. 😀 And by ‘that sort of thing’ in iTunes and OptusNet, do you mean any translation option? Keep visiting. 🙂

    Joseph Ekwu, Ye the lyrics are good one. There is a lot in your posts that is so meaningful, I wonder how you write that long and wonderful content!

    Moukound, ye, people remember for a lot many different things. One more of them, smokes?!? They’re shown smoking all the time! 😉 LOL!

  7. Thursday, August 6, 2009 6:43 pm

    as a consequence of you for your dope and it helped me in preparing my college assignment.

  8. Surinder Paul Chopra permalink
    Tuesday, October 27, 2009 3:14 pm

    Please contact with me for English to Punjabi translation projects in any punjabi font.

  9. Rafiq permalink
    Thursday, November 18, 2010 8:50 pm

    Thanks dear, i was in search of meaning. U have given period to search.

  10. Aravind Pattar permalink
    Thursday, March 31, 2011 8:39 pm

    Thanks buddy 🙂

    really really beautiful lyrics 🙂

    how expressive ..wow!

    thanks for posting again ..

Leave a Reply

